Gord McInnes

Dr. Gord McInnes is an Emergency Physician, previously at Kelowna General Hospital for 21 years, now working at Oceanside Health Centre in Parksville. He is currently the President of the Section of Emergency Medicine after many years as co-president and the Chair for the Fee For Service Committee. Additionally, he represents the DoBC on the new Emergency Care of BC’s Emergency Physician Reference Group, Tariff and several other committees that are important to EM. Gord also works as a Medical Inspector for the Ministry of Health. He is a Clinical Associate Professor within the UBC’s Department of Emergency Medicine. Gord is also involved with RUDi (Rural Doctors in aid) Heidi (811), CATe (Covid Antiviral Treatment Line) & PPRSS (Provincial Prescription Renewal Support Service) platforms providing virtual support for physicians, nurses, and patients in BC.  In his spare time, he has developed a passion for Bike-packing and continues to race triathlons and also occasionally has some time to fill in within a few rural EDs in BC like Sechelt and West Coast General.

Pronouns: he, him, his

2024 Past President

Steven Fedder

Dr. Steven Fedder has worked as a full time Emergency Physician within Ontario, Alberta, and for more than 25 years in BC.  He currently works at Richmond General Hospital, a community hospital in the lower mainland.  He is now past president after many years as co-president of the Doctors of BC Section of Emergency Medicine. Dr. Fedder is involved in a number of Doctors of BC committees: the Alternative Payment Issues Committee, where he represents the interests of APP funded EPs in the province, and the Doctors of BC representative assembly, where he represents all Emergency Physicians in BC.

In 2022 Dr. Fedder was nominated once again to the Negotiations Coordinating Group, where he acted as the voice of all APP funded physicians during negotiations between the Doctors of BC and the government for the 2019 and now the 2022 PMA.  He is also a contributing member of the provincial workload measures working group in addition to locally representing Richmond Hospital’s regional trauma committee and the the physician engagement committee.

During his free time Dr. Fedder has a passion for bike touring, ski touring, cooking and bread baking. 

Pronouns: he, him, his

Vice President

Garth Meckler

Dr. Garth Meckler is a Pediatric Emergency Physician and the Division Head for BC Children’s Hospital / PHSA as well as a clinician scientist at the BCCH Research Institute and Associate Professor in Pediatrics and Emergency Medicine at UBC.  Garth currently serves as a member of the SEM subcommittee for Equity Diversity and Inclusion and serves on a number of committees at the Provincial and Health Authority level including the Executive Steering Committee and Emergency Physician Reference Group for the newly formed Emergency Care BC health improvement network.  He is committed to advocating for equity and diversity within the EM workforce, and looking forward to serving and representing all EDPs across the province as the incoming VP for the SEM.  During his free time Garth enjoys backcountry trekking/camping, distance running, and photography and is decisively a dog person.

Pronouns: he, him, his

2023 Past-President

Quynh Doan

Dr. Quynh Doan is a Pediatric Emergency Physician at BC Children’s Hospital (BCCH), a clinician scientist at the BCCH Research Institute, and an Associate Professor in the Department of Pediatrics at the University of British Columbia. Quynh is also the Director of Clinical Research at the BCCH Research Institute. In addition to these roles, Quynh now serves as the current Past-President of the Section of Emergency Medicine (SEM). Quynh previously served 6 years as Co-President.
In her spare time, Quynh enjoys the theatre, a good game of squash or skiing the slopes in Whistler-Blackcomb.

Senior Executive Director and Director of Clinical Research, BCCH Research Institute.
Clinician Scientist, Pediatric Emergency Medicine, UBC.

Pronouns: she, her, hers

Other member of the executive

APP Lead as of 2024: Dr. Jon Braunstein

FFS Lead as of 2024: Dr. Gord McInnes

Financial Lead as of 2024: Dr. Krystaleah Lindsay